Consolidated's Website Compass

18 WebsiteCompass Dr. Webbie Answers your frequently asked questions QUESTION: On Facebook, what’s the difference between the terms Unfriend, Block, Unfollow, and Snooze? ANSWER: Facebook offers you a range of ways to end or limit the interaction you have with other users. Here’s what each of the terms mean: Unfriend When you Unfriend someone, the person will be removed from your friends list, and you’ll be removed from theirs as well. The person you Unfriend won’t be notified. If you later decide you want to be friends with the person, you’ll need to add them as a friend again. Block When you Block someone, they will no longer be able to do the following: • See things you post on your profile • Tag you in posts, comments, or photos • Invite you to events or groups • Start a conversation with you • Add you as a friend Unfollow When you Unfollow a person, you won’t see their posts in your News Feed, but you’ll still be friends with them on Facebook. You can also Unfollow a Page or group. Snooze When you Snooze a person, Page, or group, it prevents you from seeing their posts in your News Feed for 30 days. The person, Page, or group you’ve snoozed won’t be notified. To learn more about these and other ways to manage your Facebook account, visit the Help Center at facebook.com/help. QUESTION: When should I reboot my computer and what are the benefits of doing so? ANSWER: Rebooting a computer can be an effective troubleshooting step to help resolve issues such as internet connectivity problems, slow browser response, and software malfunctioning. Essentially, rebooting “starts over” any code that may be working improperly. You may want to reboot your computer in these situations: • Your computer is running slow. • Your computer is acting “weird.” • There are unexpected system freeze-ups. • There’s a driver or hardware error. • You experience lagging internet speeds or have trouble connecting to the internet. • You just did a software or patch update or any type of software or hardware installation. There are many benefits to rebooting your computer. First of all, it flushes RAM (Random Access Memory), which is your computer’s main type of memory that handles short-term tasks and data. When you reboot, you flush out all the random, unimportant, and temporary data bogging down your device. This can help your computer run more quickly. Rebooting can also help resolve some internet connectivity issues. When computers lose their connection to the internet, rebooting will reset the connection. However, if this step doesn’t solve your connectivity issues, you may have to reboot your router or contact your Internet Service Provider for assistance. Computers that go without reboots for extended periods are prone to an assortment of annoying bugs and glitches including programs running at a slower pace than usual and unexpected system freeze-ups. Rebooting your computer will prevent the systems’ processors from becoming overloaded and provide them with ample time to recharge. FAQs

RkJQdWJsaXNoZXIy MTMzNDE=